Houston, Can we just skip Halloween?

Money this year is tight, the kids don’t really care yet, and, frankly, I dont need to be surrounded by buckets of bite sized candy.

MFOC is set on being Thomas, which means he gets a very dorky looking costume that’s been sitting in the bottom of the dress up box for a few months. I know he loves Thomas right now, but this costume just is not my thing. 😉 I would have much rather he wanted to be a monster or a dinosaur, but no, he loves his blue engine friend.

The girls will go as princesses since we have about ten dozen princess dresses in the dress up box. Okay, it’s only four, but still. $30 a costume or one of their current favorite dresses that we already own. Hmmmmmm….

argh. I’m just tired. in another life I could go to bed but right now, I have about 5 more hours of work to do before I crash out.

4 Responses to “Houston, Can we just skip Halloween?”


  1. 1 Holly October 26, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    My mom never bought us Halloween costumes–we always used something we either already owned or Grandma made. My sister was a princess-rockstar-moviestar years in a row built out of clothes from our dress-up box, and my hand-sewn mermaid costume was a bazillion times better than the store bought version. No one ever had our costumes, and it made Halloween all the more awesome. 🙂

  2. 2 Lacey October 26, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    J will be Elmo (his current favorite obsession besides Cookie Monster)and R will be a pumpkin. I have never seen J as excited as he was when he saw the Elmo costume and, well, the pumpkin costume was cheap and R doesn’t currently care.

  3. 3 deadale November 2, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    well, i think you can ahve holloween without spending too much..
    you need not buy new costimes, you can actually reinvent your old ones and have simple but fun party and games or better yet join your relatives of friends halloween party and bring in your share of food, that way you’ll be able to save but have more fun..

    you just need creativity.. and you cant tell kids not to have holloween..

  4. 4 Jem, Conveyancing Programmer November 26, 2009 at 10:47 am

    Halloween is getting a really expensive time of the year. Living in the UK we do not celebrate it as much as you… until now. I recently went to a halloween party the WHOLE house was decorated. It must have cost an absolute fortune and all for one day! My costume alone was expensive nevermind my three children.


Leave a Reply

Who Are These People?

Mav/Momtog/1p2 -
Me. The voice inside your head.

Daddio -
My husband.

MFOC -
Myfavoriteonlychild, my 3 yr old son

MissyMae & MissyLou -
Daddio's two dear daughters from his previous marriage to Vex.

Ama -
My on-again-off-again mother whom MFOC absolutely adores to bits and pieces and I manage to tolerate 6 months and 2 days out of the year.

Vex -
The crazy ex. Because no blended family would be complete without one. (But she's only half crazy EOW & alternating holidays)

My Flickr

My Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

eXtras

Texas Yellow Pages

