laughing

because we’re broke.

can’t buy food broke. Might be short on rent broke. And it’s hysterical.

People email all the time about how they want a “deal” on their pictures. Obviously I’m already giving them a “deal” if we’re this freakin’ broke and I’m this dang busy. I need another job, but I dont WANT another job. I just want to take pictures. I should listen to myself and raise my prices, all the “rockstars” swear by it.

But, in the meantime, WTH would I do?

THIS is not working. Clearly. Something needs to change.

Not sure what. But something.

I have spent some money on extras last couple months, but not a lot.

Still. Wow. This is not good. *sigh*

And then I start to think about how we will NEVER be ready for another baby. We will never have the extra money to afford it. Etc. Etc.

Life is sucking right now. Really, really sucking in the financial sector.

Not that this is unique, of course.

5 Responses to “laughing”


  1. 1 twistedtangerine October 29, 2009 at 1:26 am

    Ah, you starving artist you 😉 Jokes aside, this is where you two *have* to sort out funds… AND do a budget.. 😦

  2. 2 deadale November 2, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    you know what, life doesn’t suck, it bites at times but that’s what life is, challenges are sent to us to sharpen us to make us stronger..

    i think, what you need to sit and gather your thoughts, there are pretty much job you can do to earn additional income, you just need patience and the determination..
    and yes, another child is not a good idea at the moment so you’ve to practice family planning,when you thnk you’re financially stable then that will be perfect..

    goodluck, hope everything turns out well..

  3. 3 Cat November 3, 2009 at 4:42 am

    I’m so sorry. Good luck with budgeting. I would also sit down and compare your prices and markup to others in the area and see where you could go up.

  4. 4 Dana November 20, 2009 at 12:12 am

    Everyone is experiencing money issues right now. I know its not helping – but you’re not alone. I hope it gets better!

    I’m at your site today because I bookmarked your blog a couple of years ago. Just wondering why you don’t visit IVillage Vaccine Debate anymore?

    Right now, things are really interesting. We have this guy and his friend, who are die-hard pro-vax. It’s fun just to sit and wonder what their motives are…

    Anyway, just wanted to say we miss you over there.

  5. 5 Nicole December 14, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    I don’t know what you charge but I have to agree with the “rockstars,” raise your prices.

    I am a single-ish parent, working with a very limited budget but professional photos are something that I save and put money aside for — even though I don’t get them done often, and as a consumer I would rather pay more for photos with a professional and get them done once in a while than pay $7.99 at Walmart.

    The extra money is worth it to me and I think that anybody who seeks a professional photog thinks the same, even if they do ask for a deal.

    Plus, if you raise your prices then you CAN give somebody a deal — once in a while — if you so desire and it’s not going to break the bank for you.
    It’s your business and you need to make sure you can meet your expenses and you need to be able to make a profit.
    That’s just the way things work!

    Great blog btw!


Leave a Reply

Who Are These People?

Mav/Momtog/1p2 -
Me. The voice inside your head.

Daddio -
My husband.

MFOC -
Myfavoriteonlychild, my 3 yr old son

MissyMae & MissyLou -
Daddio's two dear daughters from his previous marriage to Vex.

Ama -
My on-again-off-again mother whom MFOC absolutely adores to bits and pieces and I manage to tolerate 6 months and 2 days out of the year.

Vex -
The crazy ex. Because no blended family would be complete without one. (But she's only half crazy EOW & alternating holidays)

My Flickr

My Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

eXtras

Texas Yellow Pages

